clarify FileIndex read action expectations
authorpeter <peter@jetbrains.com>
Wed, 8 May 2019 11:24:17 +0000 (13:24 +0200)
committerintellij-monorepo-bot <intellij-monorepo-bot-no-reply@jetbrains.com>
Wed, 8 May 2019 12:03:58 +0000 (15:03 +0300)
GitOrigin-RevId: 85647f70f337652d4bf179764b46978e7d3e5f84

platform/projectModel-api/src/com/intellij/openapi/roots/FileIndex.java

index b52446bec7cc4fa19a1d11b0ff1af26a315aca3e..f1a66f000f0304bf74d5817afdb06892ced204be 100644 (file)
@@ -25,7 +25,10 @@ import org.jetbrains.jps.model.module.JpsModuleSourceRootType;
 import java.util.Set;
 
 /**
- * Provides information about files contained in a project or module. Should be used from a read action.
+ * Provides information about files contained in a project or module.
+ * In this interface and its inheritors, methods checking specific file status ("isX", "getX") should be used from a read action.
+ * Iteration methods ("iterateX") may be called outside of a read action (since iteration can take a long time),
+ * but they should be prepared to project model being changed in the middle of the iteration.
  *
  * @see ProjectRootManager#getFileIndex()
  * @see ModuleRootManager#getFileIndex()