PY-40974 Always treat environment variables as raw bytes
authorAndrey Vlasovskikh <andrey.vlasovskikh@jetbrains.com>
Sun, 31 May 2020 12:42:12 +0000 (15:42 +0300)
committerintellij-monorepo-bot <intellij-monorepo-bot-no-reply@jetbrains.com>
Sun, 31 May 2020 12:45:29 +0000 (15:45 +0300)
commitf07f53d38ee369bef42d93ee482fed32d1b2a5ed
tree2e1e932817815e03fae1ac6f5962b0b997e8e3d9
parent9df95ee092d54ea5520768569f90b6fa88d83697
PY-40974 Always treat environment variables as raw bytes

It's unnecessary and sometimes wrong to assume any encoding
for an environment variable. They can be encoded differently
depending on the requirements of programs that utilize them.
In our case we just need to pass all the environment
variables "as is" to the IDE process.

I've modified printenv.py so that it's the same version of
the script for both Linux and macOS and for all the Python
versions from 2.3 to at least 3.9.

GitOrigin-RevId: 40d73ef6eb56da8609d75fbce8a4a04c52e317b4
bin/linux/printenv.py
bin/mac/printenv.py